
The area was named after a prominent local family named Alley that lived in the area. The first mill was built in 1868. The mill that is still standing today was built 1893-1894,by George Washington McCaskill, as a merchant mill.
Also at Alley Springs is the old Story Schoolhouse. The school was built in 1903 and had an enrollment of 42 students.

The spring spills 81 million gallons a water a day into the Current/Jacks Fork River.
Here the kids are discussing and looking at the water.
Interesting history and neat photos.
ReplyDelete